America Really is the Home of Obesity.

Before I start rambling about todays chosen topics, a note:

So for once I really do have a valid excuse as to why I haven’t posted anything in a while. I’m just back from two weeks in America. Seriously jet lagged too, as gay as it sounds. Never thought I could sleep so much. Anyway, onto more interesting topics… I’m still not sure where I’m going with this blog. I don’t want it to turn into one of those blogs where people post pictures of themselves, clothes, and random googled images that they like the look of. While I do enjoy reading these from time to time, and don’t get me wrong I have several I am subscribed to via RSS Feed, I just don’t think that it’s very me.

I have been told that I don’t talk much in person which is odd since I have so many thoughts and ideas going on inside my head, I just guess I have to be good friends with people (or fucked.) to initiate conversation. Ideally, this is a music blog, a cultural observation blog, somewhere I post YouTube videos I like, and talk about books or photography related things. Before I had so much time on my hands it was a place where I could moan about schoolwork and what I want to do with my life and while those things may surface from time to time, as quite frankly I still haven’t a fucking clue, I’ll try my best not to bore you with such drivel. I would like to include fashion and make-up related things despite my intention to not have this labeled as a fashion blog, of which society seems to be over saturated with at the moment, as I do have an interest in them, shock horror. Until I take my head out and finally decide on a direction, which if I’m honest, will probably be never (:]), expect a variety of things, a melting pot of sorts, a phrase I always liked from the leaving cert geography course. Gay.

Anyway back to what you came here for..

So I’ve been away which means I’ve been somewhat disassociated from Facebook and doing other things like actually reading again. I hate the internet for distracting me from it. Proper little book nerd was I at one stage. Below I’ll list a couple that I’ve read or am in the process of reading, just so I can pass them on to you and hope that you enjoy reading them as much as I have/or am.

  • The Rules of Attraction – Brett Easton Ellis. Had the copy for a shamefully long time before I finally opened it. So glad I did. One of my favourites of the last while.
  • Middlesex – Jeffrey Eugenides. Loved The Virgin Suicides so am now giving this a try, good so far.
  • If You Liked School, You’ll Love Work – Irvine Welsh. This one’s very strange, a load of short stories. If you know Trainspotting, you should know what I mean by strange. Also kind of creeped out even still by ‘Miss Arizona’. Worth a read though.
  • Junk – Melvin Burgess. My favourite by far of what I’ve read by him, (Lady: My Life as a Bitch, Doing It, Bloodtide.) A love story of sorts. A definite re-read.

Finally I’m going to throw in a new tune that I’m liking a lot en ce moment.

I’m going to try get some sleep now but will more than likely be awake for hours yet.

x

Leave a Reply

