Bipolar Empire.

So being best friends with the drummer, I reckon I should write about the bands amazing success over the last few months. That and I need something to write about whilst waiting for painkillers to kick in.. (not exactly the best combination, I know.)

So, who exactly are Bipolar Empire?

They are a three piece rock and roll band from Dublin , Ireland. Consisting of Shane O’Reilly, Joe Leech and Callum McAdam. They have been together for two years now, after the band was born in an Oxegen campsite. In their short two years, they have managed to set a record for the most name changes in a six month period, they received demo of the month from Phantom FM for “Feel That You Own it.” and they have achieved astounding success and are only achieving more and more for themselves as each day goes on.

They have played over 150 gigs in and around Dublin, including gigs where they have supported bands like The Blizzards and The Dykeenies. Their gig in the Powerscourt Centre in Dublin was the first of its kind and was met with much positive media attention. The gig in question was their last Irish gig before the boys were flown to L.A. to record their debut album with the legendary, Pat McCarthy. (Who has seen the likes of R.E.M and Madonna) I have no doubt that L.A. will catapult these guys to an even higher plateau than the one that they are currently on.

bipolar Empire

While the boys have been living it up across the pond there’s been plenty of hard work (I’m sure!) going on. They’ve laid down a massive ammount of tracks, played a headline slot at the Whisky a Go Go nightclub in West Hollywood, (Which I feel it is important to note that bands and artists such as, The Doors, Frank Zappa, Jimi Hendrix, The Who, Cream, Led Zeppelin, Oasis, Mötley Crüe, The Ramones, Blondie and The Misfits have all headlined at some point. Okay, maybe I just name droped a little but is anybody really bothered?), Dueted with Billy Steinberg, and discovered that Michael Stipe is a fan.

Of course I can’t forget to mention that before the band head home to promote the album, they’ll be stopping off in Texas on the 17th and 20th of March to play a little festival known as SXSW. To think that last year when I was planning a little trip to SXSW myself that if I had known my best friends band would be playing it, it might have become more than a mere pipe dream. Alas, one cannot dwell on these things, and besides, there have been plenty of gigs and I know that there will be plenty more that I can attend, and I think that you should too. Good luck with the future guys, you deserve it, and don’t you dare forget me as your once, band ‘photographer’!

You can find the band on Myspace here: Bipolar Empire
Photo courtesy of the bands myspace, video courtesy of the bands youtube.

One thought on “Bipolar Empire.

Leave a Reply

